Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Always You by Erin Kaye

*****5 stars
Great book! This type of story has been told, first loves, separated, but this story seemed so real, as were the characters. I really enjoyed this book and will be looking to find more of Kaye's work.

Book Jacket Summary:
A pair of star-crossed lovers offer each other a second chance at life and love. But will they have the courage to take it?
An emotive and uplifting tale, guaranteed to pull at the heart strings. Perfect for fans of Jo Jo Moyes and Hilary Boyd’s Thursdays In The Park.
If only they could rewrite their past…
It’s 1992 and Sarah is in love with Cahal, a boy from the wrong side of the tracks. As they plan to graduate from university, all seems set for their happily ever after.
Fast forward to 2012 and something’s gone wrong. Cahal is out of the picture and Sarah is divorced from Ian by whom she’s had two children. What happened? As Cahal walks back into Sarah’s life, can they do things differently this time?

Johnny's Girl By Paige Toon

*****5 stars
I started my first read of Paige Toon's book with "Johnny Be Good". I loved seeing what was going on with Meg and Johnny, so I was very excited to see an ebook/novella. I enjoyed the story and was sorry to see it end so quickly, but know that Toon has several releases this year to look forward to. If you have read the series, be sure to read this ebook as it gives a great update, and if you haven't pick up Toon's earlier books and get to work, I promise you won't regret it :)

Book Jacket Summary:
Meg's life has taken a turn for the perfect. She is the envy of millions with her drop dead gorgeous husband, their two beautiful sons and her new mansion in Henley. Her celebrity PA days are over. But desperate to keep up with her rock star husband, Johnny Jefferson, she uproots her perfect family and moves back to LA.
Meg has to learn to live with her new celebrity status and the insecurities of her old life, which keep reappearing. Under the paparazzi flash of an A-List party, complete with red carpet, champagne and canapés, Johnny's rock star past catches up with him and Meg's worst nightmare becomes a reality…

Just A Girl, Standing in Front of a Boy by Lucy-Anne Holmes

*****5 stars
Love, Love, Loved this story. I found myself rushing to finish things to get back to this book. It was a wonderful read. I adored the characters and their friendship. Truly a touching story with lots of hope. Please don't miss this one :)

Book Jacket Summary:
After a rocky start in life, Jenny Taylor, 27, star receptionist at the local doctors surgery, has things all worked out thanks to a list of ten daily things she must do to keep the blues at bay. But her life is turned upside down when she meets aspiring musician Joe King. And reliable boyfriend Matt proposes. And then her mum leaves her dad and moves into Jenny's flat determined to 'bond'.

From Scotland With Love By Katie Fforde

****4 stars
I noticed a few authors this year have released novellas. I love the idea and it was so nice reading this one. It was a taste of Fforde to get through time til her new release in March. I loved the characters and found it a wonderful quick read.

Book Jacket Summary:
When Daisy travels to Scotland to confront notorious author Rory McAllan, little does she know that within hours she'll be snowed in with him. But surely she's not going to have to spend her precious New Year's Eve with him too?

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Here's Looking At You by Mhairi McFarlane

*****5 stars
After reading "You Had Me At Hello", I had this book pre-ordered on my Kindle to be sure it was on my list of next to read. I thoroughly enjoyed "You Had Me At Hello" and found "Here's Looking At You" just as good. I adored the characters and found myself laughing as well as tearing up. I was sad this book had to end but will be sure to watch out for McFarlane's next book.

Book Jacket Summary:
Anna Alessi – history expert, possessor of a lot of hair and an occasionally filthy mouth – seeks nice man for intelligent conversation and Mills & Boon moments.
Despite the oddballs that keep turning up on her dates, Anna couldn’t be happier. As a 30-something with a job she loves, life has turned out better than she dared dream. However, things weren’t always this way, and her years spent as the ‘Italian Galleon’ of an East London comprehensive are ones she’d rather forget.
So when James Fraser – the architect of Anna’s final humiliation at school – walks back into her life, her world is turned upside down. But James seems a changed man. Polite. Mature. Funny, even. People can change, right? So why does Anna feel like she’s a fool to trust him?

Cupcakes at Carrington's by Alexandra Brown

**2 stars
I saw this began a series and decided that I would read as I love series books. It took me a while to truly get into the book. I really loved Eddie as a character, however found the main character Georgie all over the place. I haven't had a chance to read the follow-up I was looking forward to reading "Christmas at Carrigan's". But will eventually :)

Book Jacket Summary:
A deliciously indulgent read from a hot debut writer and first in a series of books set in Carrington’s Department Store – where life is sweeter…
Perfect for fans of Meet Me in the Cupcake Cafe and Breakfast at Darcy’s.
Georgie Hart loves her job – running the luxury handbag concession at Carrington's Department store in the pretty seaside town of Mulberry Bay, and treating herself (once too often!) to a red velvet cupcake with buttercream icing in Carrington's café.
But Georgie is thrown into disarray when Carrington's is plunged into a recession-busting makeover, cueing the arrival of femme fatale Maxine, who wields the axe in her immaculately-manicured hands.
It spells a recipe for disaster for Georgie and soon she is fighting not only for her job, but also for the attentions of her gorgeous boss, James. And when hot newcomer Tom arrives, who may or may not be the best thing since sliced bread, Georgie must decide where her loyalties really lie…